Hainanese Chicken Rice Cooking Class

Hainanese Chicken Rice is the ultimate comfort food. We can’t travel to the hawker centres of Singapore, but you can create this iconic hawker dish at home!

Duration: 1h45m-2hours
Suits: Gluten Free

made with brown rice

This meal has always been a family favourite in my household growing up. Along with Laksa, my Dad was famous for his Chicken Rice. It’s impossible to eat this meal in moderation!

In this class we’ll learn the tricks to cooking the most succulent and tender chicken. We’ll also make the most flavoursome rice, two condiments (green and red sauce) and a side of Asian veggies with shallot oil. I’ll also explain how you can create a cheat’s version of this meal for a quick weeknight dinner.

What’s on the menu?

  • Succulent poached chicken
  • Spring onion and ginger oil (green sauce)
  • Chilli and garlic sauce (red sauce)
  • Chicken stock infused garlic rice
  • Side of chicken broth/soup
  • Asian greens with shallot oil and oyster sauce

The detailed ingredients list will be provided after a booking is made:
Harder to find ingredients include: toasted sesame oil, oyster sauce, Chinese cooking wine (optional), fresh coriander/cilantro, Asian greens
Other ingredients: whole chicken (preferably free range), rice, ginger, garlic, spring onion, red shallot or onion, red chillies, cucumber


NEXT CLASS – UK/Europe

Sat 20th Feb, 10:30am UK Time or 11:30am CET
£20 or €22 per household, 1.75-2hr class
The currency on Eventbrite is in AUD. Payment can be made by credit/debit card. If you’d like to pay by bank transfer in GBP or EUR, please contact me below for bank details


NEXT CLASS – North America

Sat 20th Feb, 6pm EST / 5pm CT/ 3pm PST
USD 28 or CAD 35 per household, 1.75 – 2 hr class
Please register your interest in this class using the form below
Bookings will open when at least 4 parties have pre-registered


NEXT CLASS – Australia / NZ

Sun 21st Feb, 10am AEST / 12 noon NZ Time
AUD 35 per household, 1.75 – 2 hr class
Please register your interest in this class using the form below
Bookings will open when at least 4 parties have pre-registered


Register your interest in future classes

Published by nonnachong

A lover of food and how it unites us!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: